Speaking – Giving your opinion

Standard

2 responses »

  1. Hi Lara,

    In minute 9:30, when she is giving an example with ‘even though’ she says ‘Even though some people may think that making a lot of money is great, I think that there are other important things TO LIFE’.

    It’s no the first time I’ve heard it phrased that way, ‘to life’ I mean, but it seems more common to hear ‘in life’ in that context, Do they mean exactly the same? Is one of them wrong?

    Thanks,
    Salva

  2. Hi Salva,

    ‘In’ is correct. I’ve heard ‘to’ many times. However, I don’t use it that often. I’m trying to think of a situation where you can use ‘to’ in this sense. When we say ‘to’, we mean the subject of.

    We say:

    – There is more TO life than just watching television.
    – There is more information IN this book.
    – There is more TO this book than just polemics. It’s a critique of society.

    So they are not really interchangeable, although the difference is subtle.

    Did I make myself clear?

    L.

Leave a Reply

